O’Halleran Announces State of the Union Guest

January 31, 2020
Press Release

WASHINGTON—Today, Congressman Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01) announced that Tara McCollum Plese, Chief External Affairs Officer at the Arizona Alliance for Community Health Centers, would be his guest at the State of the Union on Tuesday, February 4, 2020.

“I’m honored to have Tara as my guest. In Arizona, community health centers serve over 700,000 Arizonans and provide high quality, affordable, integrated health care, mental health services, and dental services, treat substance use disorders, coordinate HIV/AIDs prevention, and provide chronic disease management,” said Rep. O’Halleran. “Tara’s work to advocate for Arizona CHCs at the state and federal level has safeguarded the primary care of countless families in the First District.”

In Arizona, there are 23 federally qualified health centers with 176 sites throughout the state. Federally qualified health centers throughout the nation serve over 28 million Americans. This Congress, O’Halleran re-introduced the CHIME Act, bipartisan legislation to extend the Community Center Health Fund for five years and increase funding to match demands for care. Current funding appropriated in December only provides monies through May of 2020.

“Congressman O’Halleran has always been a strong and consistent supporter of Arizona community health centers, and CHCs throughout the nation are fortunate to have Tom as their champion,” said McCollum Plese. “Congressman O’Halleran recognizes the need for funding to ensure that community health centers can continue to provide quality, preventative and primary health care while responding to changing health care needs in their communities. We are thankful for his tireless support.”

McCollum Plese serves on a variety of boards and committees for health care, including the State Medicaid Advisory Committee, the AHCCCS Policy Committee, the Asian Pacific Community in Action (APCA) board of directors, and the National Association for Community Health Centers (NACHC) Rural Health Committee and Legislative Committee.