O’Halleran Re-Introduces Bipartisan Resolution Recognizing Importance of Tribal Colleges and Universities

February 26, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON –Today, Congressman Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ-01) was joined by Congressman Don Young (R-AK-At Large) to re-introduce a resolution designating the week February 28, 2021 as National Tribal Colleges and Universities Week. The resolution highlights and recognizes the importance of these institutions to the economic, educational, and social wellbeing of Indian Country.

“Tribal Colleges and Universities serve students from more than 230 federally recognized tribes across 16 states, including Arizona, and provide essential education, job, and skills training programs grounded in unique cultural traditions and values,” said Rep. O’Halleran. “I’m proud to join Congressman Young to re-introduce this legislation that highlights the invaluable role TCUs play in our communities and am beyond pleased by the growing bipartisan support for these critical educational institutions.”

"In Alaska and across our nation, Tribal Colleges and Universities provide the education and training necessary for students to succeed," said Rep. Young. "In Alaska, Ilisagvik College has played a critical role in securing a bright future for Alaska Natives, and in Congress, I have been a long-time supporter of their mission. I am proud to join my friend, Congressman Tom O'Halleran, on legislation designating the week of February 28th as National Tribal Colleges and Universities Week. It is essential that we use this time to highlight these institutions, and the role they play in empowering Indigenous students and creating strong, vibrant communities across the country."

The bipartisan resolution is cosponsored by Reps. Raúl Grijalva (D-AZ-03), Derek Kilmer (D-WA-06), Rick Larsen (D-WA-02), Susan DelBene (D-WA-01), Marilyn Strickland (D-WA-10), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ-07), John Moolenaar (R-MI-04), Teresa Leger Fernández (D-NM-03), David Schweikert (R-AZ-05), Norma Torres (D-CA-35), Alcee Hastings (D-FL-23), Dusty Johnson (R-SD-At Large), Michelle Fischbach (R-MN-07), Tom Tiffany (R-WI-07), Karen Bass (D-CA-37), Pete Stauber (R-MN-08), Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ-02), Dan Kildee (D-MI-05), Kelly Armstrong (R-ND-At Large), David Joyce (R-OH-14), Jack Bergman (R-MI-01), and Del. Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen (R-AS-At Large).

Full text of the resolution is available, here.