Reps. Rosen, O'Halleran & Crowley Send Letter to President: Slashing Medicaid Will Hurt Our Veterans

May 26, 2017
Press Release

WASHINGTON – Today, Congresswoman Jacky Rosen (NV-03) released the following statement after sending a letter with Congressman Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ), Democratic Caucus Chairman Joe Crowley (D-NY) and 62 other members of Congress urging the President to keep our promise to our veterans by not slashing Medicaid:

“For many veterans who are struggling to make ends meet, Medicaid is the only health care option they can rely on,” said Congresswoman Jacky Rosen.  “In fact, one in ten former service members uses Medicaid as their primary source of health care. Our veterans deserve the best care for the service and sacrifice they’ve made for our country and the President’s budget breaks our commitment to them by taking away the health coverage they desperately need.  That’s why I am proud to stand with my colleagues and fight to uphold our promise to our veterans.”

"Veterans in rural communities across the country already face high barriers to receiving affordable, quality health care, and the cuts to Medicaid in the most recent budget proposal and AHCA will only make it more difficult,” said Congressman Tom O’Halleran. “In Arizona alone, more than 45,000 veterans are covered by Medicaid, and these cuts would directly impact their access to care. We owe our veterans a debt of gratitude for their service to our country, and we must work to protect and improve their care.”

“America's veterans deserve the highest-quality care, treatment, and support our nation can provide,” said Democratic Caucus Chairman Joe Crowley. “President Trump’s budget falls significantly short of that commitment with its deep cuts to Medicaid that would force nearly 2 million veterans and their spouses to lose access to their health coverage. This is unacceptable. I’m proud to partner with my colleagues to protest this dangerous proposal from Republicans and stand for the sacred commitment we’ve made to the men and women who protected America.”

For the full-text of the letter, please click here.

Co-signers include: Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI), Louise Slaughter (D-NY), Sanford D. Bishop (D-GA), Ed Perlmutter (D-CO), Doris Matsui (D-CA), Norma Torres (D-CA), Tony Cárdenas (D-CA), Mark Takano (D-CA), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Kurt Schrader (D-OR), Nydia M. Velázquez (D-NY), Tim Walz (D-MN), Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-NJ) Kathy Castor (D-FL), Raúl M. Grijalva (D-AZ), James P. McGovern (D-MA), Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), Bill Foster (D-IL), Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH), Dina Titus (D-NV), Ruben Kihuen (D-NV), Ron Kind (D-WI), Nita Lowey (D-NY), Joaquin Castro (D-TX), Robert C. "Bobby" Scott (D-VA), Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM) , Joseph P. Kennedy III (D-MA), Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL), Niki Tsongas (D-MA), Mike Thompson (D-CA), Dwight Evans (D-PA), Ted Lieu (D-CA), Al Lawson (D-FL), Filemon Vela (D-TX), Joyce Beatty (D-OH), Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D-Northern Mariana Islands), Julia Brownley (D-CA),David N. Cicilline (D-RI), Beto O'Rourke (D-TX), Thomas R. Suozzi (D-NY), Donald Norcross (D-NJ), John Yarmuth (D-KY), José E. Serrano (D-NY), Seth Moulton (D-MA), Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Robin Kelly (D-IL),  Nanette Diaz Barragán (D-CA), Jimmy Panetta (D-CA), Steve Cohen (D-TN), Ted Deutch (D-FL), Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI), Val Butler Demings (D-FL), Diana DeGette (D-CO), Dave Loebsack (D-IA), Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH) Kathleen M. Rice (D-NY), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), J. Luis Correa (D-CA), William R. Keating (D-MA).